Testimonials

Chatto goes out of her way to ensure that your hair gets only the best care. My search for the ideal all-natural salon is over now that I’ve found Chatto’s! And the products speak for themselves; just try them!
Mieka Dorsey

I have natural hair and I didn’t know what to do with it because I didn’t know what styles to do. I came in for a consultation and when she was doing my hair she personally showed me different styles to put in my hair, how to sleep and how to wear it. I would recommend anyone going through transition to go to Chattos.


I enjoyed myself because I had the opportunity to learn about my hair, not just get it done. Everyone was very friendly and with an open ear to any questions that came to mind. I will definitely be back. Thanks!

Lora
 


I wanted to do keratin treatment for a while but I was reluctant to put it in because of the things I have heard about keratin. I just called out of curiosity and came to Chatto’s. I am telling you my hair looks amazing!
Elwanda


I really enjoyed the customer service the ambiance and the friendliness of the staff. They were very accommodating & talented. Cheryl is da bomb!
Nia


2nd visit to the salon, appreciate education about hair care/scalp care in addition to styling. Staff was also very friendly. No complaints.
Marlana


I give Chatto salons 5 stars. The staff is friendly and very good at what they do. I believe my hair is in much better condition, then it was before I started coming. I would recommend it to anyone
Herminia


I give you five stars. The total service was nice. Best experience with my twist.


The shop is very professional. I had an appointment for a certain time and they were ready for me as soon as I entered the door. They cut not only woman but mens hair as well so the environment of the shop is very diverse.

Reena


I love how Chatto Salons has incorporated the Eco Friendly environment. From the paint to the wood everything in the salon she hand pick to make sure was eco-friendly. The salon displays exactly what Chatto salon is all about. Green, Healthy, Positivity + Love!

Jua


 

Overall this salon is EXCEllENT!!!!

1. Before entering Chatto Salon my hair was damaged and at times dry. After talking to Chatto about the troubles I was having she referred me to some of her products. After only using the products for two weeks I immediately noticed a change. My hair was stronger, and also moist. I recommend anyone with the same problem to venture into the shop.

2. The shop is very professional. I had an appointment for a certain time and they were ready for me as soon as I entered the door. They cut not only women but mens hair as well so the environment of the shop is very diverse.

3. I don’t know what the rest of the reviews are talking about. Chatto is a great place to go if you are in need of hair therapy, or just a simple cut. I highly recommend this salon.

–Sean C.  Via Yelp.com  



 

I have been to this salon once, but I had been using her hair care products off of her website for a while bc I had been looking for an all natural hair care product for my hair that did not have loads of petroleum and other questionable products.

First, her hair care products are first rate, i have been using them for a while and my hair seems stronger, softer, and has a lot of moisture, which is a never ending problem when you’re starting dreads.

Second, when I came into her shop, my appointment was at 1 o clock, and I was seen at 1. I have been at several places before, and along with my mom and my sister’s experiences, being seen on time is a shock in and of itself.

Third, everyone, including Chatto is really nice, professional, and they also are welcome to answering any questions you have regarding your hair. Chatto is awesome, but the other stylists know their stuff, and are willing to help anyway they can.

I’ve only been there once, but I plan to go there again for maintenance, and will update as needed.

–Lamont P. via Yelp.com


 

Chatto salon is AWESOME!!! First let me say the ambiance of the salon is very warm, relaxing, and inviting. It’s quiet and there’s soft music playing that puts you totally at ease its so relaxing. I see the stylist there named Crystal and I absolutely LOVE LOVE LOVE her work. Crystal colored my hair on my last visit and did an amazing job, she totally transformed my look and I love the color. Crystal is really an amazing stylist and I am never disappointed with her work….she cuts, colors, styles this woman can really do it all. I wish I could give more stars than 5 because both the shop and Crystal really deserve it. It’s very hard to find a good stylist in the city and one of the things I like most about Crystal is she NEVER over books her clients, she is always on time to work and she really takes her time when styling my hair and specializes in healthy hair. I would definitely say this shop and Crystal are worth a visit…you will not be disappointed.

–Jameelah J. via Yelp.com


Fabulous as usual! Crystal is an amazing stylist and gave me a great cut.

–Kristen Gilbert, (June 10, 2011)



 

Sorry this review is a little late, about a month ago I went to Chatto’s to get my hair all cut off as I was going au naturale! I had gone to the salon before when I was still getting relaxers and they were great then too (I left another review about them then as well). They recently opened a second location across the street and they’ve designed it really well. Definitely has the calm, relaxing, spa appeal going on.

Anyways, like I said I went to go get all my processed hair chopped off and start wearing my hair natural, and Chatto was great! It was a real quick process, she cut all the relaxed hair off, then shampooed and deep deep conditioned my hair as it was SUPER dry cause I didn’t do anything with it that day. Then she went back over her cut to make sure she got all the relaxed ends off, and I have to say I love love love my new do ;)

Afterwards she gave me a few samples of her face products which I ended up using all up within a few week cause they were awesome. Cleared my very acne prone skin without over drying it and made it feel baby soft :)

All in all, I recommend both her salon and her skincare/haircare products

–Ashlei M. via Yelp.com


 

I have very difficult hair to manage because of the texture and the dryness. For the past 3 years I’ve been going from salon to salon without any satisfaction. I was about to give up until a friend of mine reccommended Chatto Salon. So I immediately made an appointment. When I got there, even with the consultation alone I knew she was able to change my hair. Once she looked at my hair she knew my issues and how to resolve them. After the shampoo, the cut and the in-house products she used, my hair looks exactly how it did when I was in my teens. I reccommend everyone with hair issues to go to Chatto. She works miracles, literally!

Chelsea R. Via Yelp.com


 

Looking for a stylist for over 5 years, finally found Crystal. She does a great job and always professional. She’s the best stylist ever.

–Linda C. Hickenbottom 


 

I appreciate the service very much. I am impressed by the walk-in service and the professional and honest advice given. The attention to detail on my head + hair is especially gratifying and genuine. Thank You and wish your business the very best. Should I return to Chicago, I will be back to your salon. Thanks so very much.

–Mrs. Sharon Scott [From Bermuda]


 

My son found this salon for me out love and wanting the best for his mom. I really can’t express how grateful I am. Chatto is well worth the Gold Coast hassle for parking as well as the walk up of several flights of stairs. I was nervous about trying someone new. However, Chatto put me right at ease. Chatto made me feel as though she was concerned about helping me make the right choices regarding my hair style and what was appropriate for my facial shape and my age. I was pleased with the service and her very professional staff. I know I will be returning to this gold coast oasis very soon.

–Barbara R. via Yelp.com  


 

The atmosphere at Chatto’s is warm, friendly, high energy and yet professional. Every employee is obviously trained to treat each guest like royalty, lavishing you with attention to meet your needs while at the salon. Chatto herself ensures that you know to maintain the results of the hair or skin care service in between appointments. I look forward to my appointments and am always pleased with the outcome. This is definitely a five star salon.

Evelyn Green, (May 27, 2011)


 

I have been going to Chatto’s Salon for the absolute best in hair care treatment and styling. Chatto has healed my hair and helped me look my absolute best. When I leave Chatto’s Salon I feel so good about myself. I feel safe with Chatto because she has spent time with me over the years to get to know me and my haircare needs. When I make an appointment I always know that I will receive the best treatment that suits me. I would recommend Chatto’s Salon to anyone that wants to receive wonderful hair services. No one is better! Thanks Chatto.

Margie S. via Yelp.com


 

I came to Chatto’s Salon at the start of 2011. First I was thrilled to find a salon that catered to Black hair on the north side. Second, my own hair was thinning and breaking. Working w/ Chatto we decided a weave would work best along w/ Chatto’s products. My hair grew back like weeds and to my (+Chatto’s management) delight. Thank You for giving me my hair back, Chatto!

–Shaun W.


 

Chatto is very friendly and extremely knowledgeable. Her salon environment is relaxing and she is willing to explain the products to you so you can apply them properly. Chatto will help your hair be healthy and moisturized.

–Nuagan Burger


 

Great Experience! Relaxing, friendly, felt like I was at home getting a haircut from my mom. Greatly recommended. Will come here again my next trip into Chicago.

–Moses Massena, (MLB Network, Fox Sports)


 

I am traveling with a Broadway show and it has bee really hard finding keeping my hair healthy and finding a salon that knows how to take care of natural hair. I found Chatto by searching the web and saw that she had the best website. We sat down and talked about hair care and my hair impartially. She suggested a lot of great products and techniques that will keep my hair healthy. I feel like I found a diamond in the rough. I went to work with my hair done and everyone complimented me on my great hair. Everyone talked about how great my hair looked, even days later I got compliments. Thank you, thank you, thank you Chatto, you have really been an answered prayer.

Michelle H.


I recently decided to “go natural,” after having relaxed hair for 26 years. Although I was excited about the decision, I was also very nervous…until I met Chatto! She is taking extraordinary care of my hair, and I am so happy to have found her.

Mieka Dorsey, (May 17, 2011)


I’ve known Cheryl for many years and try to follow her wherever she is. I like this salon because… I feel that I get personalized care. I usually don’t have to wait long (which is a big issue for me and partially why I cut my hair off and started wearing an afro). The staff is very professional and makes sure that I am comfortable.

Patricia Simples, (May 21, 2011)


I was very fortunate to find Chatto’s online. Since coming here, my hair has grown and is healthier than it’s ever been. Chatto’s expertise is top notch!! I love coming to your salon. Ms. Chatto and her staff are wonderful

Tonya Brown, (June 16, 2011)


As a Biracial woman it is hard to find salons in the downtown Chicago area that cater to your wants and needs. I researched and found Chatto online and I absolutely love the service I receive there. She does amazing things with my hair and keeps it 100% healthy. Come! Great Location! Great Services!
July 5th, 2011
5 stars


Crystal did an amazing job on my hair. She did the exact style I wanted. I will definitely coming back for more. Until the next time.
Pamela Wilkins
July 1st, 2011
5 stars

I came for a haircut. I have natural hair going through transition. Before we started the service, Chatto gave me a consultation. My hair has never looked better. The consultation and hair service was great.
Rachael Dixon
June 28th, 2011
5 stars


I enjoyed myself because I had the opportunity to learn about my hair, not just get it done. Everyone was very friendly and with an open ear to any questions that came to mind. I will definitely be back. Thanks
Dana C.
5 stars
June 22, 2011


I love coming to Chatto. The warm environment, serene environment makes me feel relaxed and like I’m at home. There is never a wait and I am attended to by all the great stylist and employees at the salon. I would recommend everyone to come here. It’s so relaxing.
Michelle Smith
5 stars
June 24th, 2011


I have natural hair and I didn’t know what to do with it because I didn’t know what styles to do. I came in for a consultation and when she was doing my hair she personally showed me different styles to put in my hair, how to sleep and how to wear it. I would recommend anyone going through transition to go to Chattos
Cheryl
5 stars
June 24th, 2011


I’ve known Cheryl for many years and try to follow her wherever she is. I like this salon because it’s small and I feel that I get personalized care. I usually don’t have to wait long (which is a big issue for me and partially why I cut my hair off and started wearing an afro). The staff is very professional and makes sure that I am comfortable.
Patricia Simples
4 stars
May 21st, 2011


Chatto could not have been nicer in helping me to deal with my biracial daughter’s hair. So nice and helped us learn how to manage it in the future!
Susan Selman
5 stars


I was very impressed with Chatto’s professionalism + experience. I appreciate the time she took to do my hair + explain ways to care for my hair
Debbie Hall
5 stars


I have a straight hair with an Italian texture. And the cut I got from Chatto was unbelievable.
Jenna Olsen
5 stars


I recently decided to “go natural,” after having relaxed hair for 26 years. Although I was excited about the decision, I was also very nervous…until I met Chatto! She is taking extraordinary care of my hair, and I am so happy to have found her.
Mieka Dorsey
5 stars
May 17th, 2011


I’ve been coming to Chatto for a little over a year- I decided to wear my hair natural after perming it for 30 years. I needed someone experienced in dealing with natural hair and I’m very happy with my experiences. I visited the salon every 8 weeks and I get my hair trimmed and colored. The cut is always precise and the color lasts until the next visit. I highly recommended Chatto if you are in need of someone to take care of natural hair.
Tammy Yarbrough
5 stars
May 21st, 2011


As a Black Women new to Lincoln Park, I was desperate for someone who knew how to handle my ethnic hair. I found Chatto’s online and took a gamble but I’m so glad I did. They are so knowledgeable about different types and styles that hair can take, and as a college student, my wallet was still smiling when I walked out. I found my hair salon.
Austin G.
5 stars
May 27, 2011


Great Experience! Chatto really knows about hair and how to maintain and take care of it. I will definitely be recommending her to all my friends. Thanks Chatto.
Linda
5 stars
July 9th, 2011


I called Chatto to find out how to get a natural look with my relaxed hair, she was very nice and gave me ideas. She suggested I do a rod set instead of a twist out, it came out great. Will definitely recommend this place. Great service, great experienced hair stylist!
Lola A.
5 stars
July 8th, 2011


I got my hair done by Crystal and I am telling she is one of the best. She did a style that fit me and it was totally trendy. Love it!
Ivy Thomas
5 stars
July 7th, 2011


I love my haircut. I feel so good after getting my hair done. I wouldn’t go to any other salon. Thanks.
Linda
5 stars
July 1st, 2011


Fabulous as usual! Crystal is an amazing stylist and gave me a great cut.
Kristen Gilbert
5 stars
June 10th, 2011


I like coming to Chatto’s because the shop is quiet, and peaceful. Ms. Chatto is my hairdresser, and I adore her because when I came in, my hair was in bad shape. However, I can see a difference in my hair that’s why I will be coming back to Chatto’s.
Lois Wilson
5 stars
May 28th, 2011


My hair is badly damaged from relaxers and poor treatment. I decided to try Chatto after I witnessed his positive results. I consulted with Chatto and she appeared knowledgeable about hair care. I walked away feeling confident with her advice and I have started receiving services.
Alice Parrot
May 21st, 2011


I’ve been coming to Chatto’s since August 2010 for braids. I’m really glad I’ve found a place in the city for quality braids. My hair is a lot healthier since I’ve been coming to Chatto, and I’m very pleased with it.
Tracy Woodley
5 stars
May 25th, 2011


I give you five stars. The total service was nice. Best experience with my twist.
Ivan Hardaway
5 stars
June 8th, 2011


I rate my experience as 5 stars. The service is excellent and Ms. Chatto seems to know exactly what works for me. I also appreciate the tips she gives me for caring and styling my hair. I will recommend Chatto to anyone looking for a salon.
5 stars


I give Chatto salons 5 stars. The staff is friendly and very good at what they do. I believe my hair is in much better condition, then it was before I started coming. I would recommend it to anyone
Lisa Cummings
5 stars


My son recommended Chatto. He was preparing his hair for locks but prior to starting at Chatto, he was not successful. His hair was short, dry and brittle but since starting at Chatto his hair is growing and it looks great.
Alice Parrot
5 stars


Chatto salon has helped save my damage hair and has restored my confidence. Back to having and loving natural hair. Her passion and understanding of different hair texture is simply amazing. She diagnosed my hair + the problem and since then I haven’t looked back. My hair speaks volumes of how knowledge + professional this salon is.
Jua
5 stars


I appreciate the service very much. I am impressed by the walk in service and the professional and honest advice given, the attention to detail on my head and hair is especially gratifying and genuine. Thank you and I wish your business the very best. Should I return to Chicago. I will be back to your salon. Thanks so very much.
Mrs. Sharon Scott
Vacationing from Bermuda
5 stars


I came to Chatto’s Salon at the start of 2011. First, I was thrilled to find a salon that catered to black Hair in the north side. Second, my own hair was thinning and breaking. Working with Chatto my we decided a weave would work best. Along with Chatto products, my hair grew like weeds and to my (and Chatto’s) amazing and delight. Thank you for giving me my hair back. Chatto!
Shaun W.
5 stars
Chicago, IL


I came to Chatto’s Salon at the start of 2011. First, I was thrilled to find a salon that catered to black Hair in the north side. Second, my own hair was thinning and breaking. Working with Chatto my we decided a weave would work best. Along with Chatto products, my hair grew like weeds and to my (and Chatto’s) amazing and delight. Thank you for giving me my hair back. Chatto!
Shaun W.
5 stars
Chicago, IL


I was ready for a new look and Chatto gave me exactly what I wanted-how many hairdressers do that?!? I felt like a movie star! Thank you so much Chatto! You have made me a Very Happy Customer!


Chatto’s Hair Care Products are the best for Natural Hair, PERIOD!
“I’ve tried all the hair products that I bought from Chatto’s. I dyed my hair on Saturday, then washed & conditioned using the Shampoo Bar & Leave-In Conditioner. First of all, I loved the fresh minty smell of the shampoo & how my hair felt afterwards. The results were really good! My hair was soft & hydrated. Which is quite the opposite from how it normally is after dyeing it (incredibly dry, with a texture like sandpaper), even after hrs. of conditioning. I was happily surprised! I especially loved the loc cream, which I tried later after my hair had dried. I found it also very hydrating & I only needed to use a small amount. Overall though, Chatto’s Products seem to be just what my moisture hungry hair requires. To be honest I didn’t really expect a lot. I’ve tried product after product that didn’t even come close to what it promised. It takes a lot to quench my very dry, parched locks, which one of my single biggest hair issues since I went natural. This is impressive stuff!!”


I have Locs and I was reluctant to put color. I searched online and found Chatto’s salon. I brought a picture of the color I wanted. The best part was she used a color with no ammonium which is a permanent color and the color that came out was the exact color I’ve been dreaming about. I would recommend her to anyone that has Locs and looking for hair color.
Shanna Thomspon
5 stars
June 23rd, 2011


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>